Ciconniformes, traditionally, includes a variety of large, long-legged, large bodied, large billed wading birds like storks, herons, egrets, ibises, spoonbills, and several others. Sibley-Ahlquist taxonomy greatly enlarged the Ciconiiformes, adding many more families, including most of those usually regarded as belonging to the Sphenisciformes (penguins), Gaviiformes (divers and loons), Podicipediformes (grebes), Procellariiformes (tubenosed seabirds), Charadriiformes, (waders, gulls, terns and auks), Pelecaniformes (pelicans, cormorants, gannets and allies), and the Falconiformes (diurnal birds of prey). The flamingo family, Phoenicopteridae, is related, and is sometimes classed as part of the Ciconiiformes.

Family: Ardeidae

Family: Ciconiidae

Family: Threskiornithidae

Family: Scolopacidae

Family: Jacanidae

family: Charadriidae

family: Glareolidae

family: Recurvirostridae

Family: Accipitridae